The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$14,500 per annum and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$12,500. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$3,200 and an expense allowance of \$1,600 plus an allowance of \$10 a day for a period of 60 days continuous sitting including Saturdays and Sundays. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$6,000 and the Speaker of the Legislature receives \$9,600 which is an amount equal to double the indemnity and expense allowance of an individual member.

26.—Legislatures of Manitoba, 1945-65, as at Apr. 30, 1965

Norz.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 80; for 1924-36 in the 1938 edition, p. 115; and for 1937-45 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 88.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Oct. 15, 1945 Nov. 10, 1949 June 8, 1953 June 16, 1958 May 14, 1959 Dec. 14, 1962	22nd 23rd 24th	4 7 5 2 5 1	Feb. 19, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 2, 1954 Oct. 23, 1958 June 9, 1959 Feb. 28, 1963	Sept. 29, 1949 Apr. 23, 1953 Apr. 30, 1958 Mar. 31, 1959 Nov. 9, 1962

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1965.

27.—Fifteenth Ministry of Manitoba, as at Apr. 30, 1965

(Party standing at latest General Election, Dec. 14, 1962: 36 Progressive Conservative, 13 Liberal, 7 New Democratic Party and 1 Social Credit.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Acting Provincial Treasurer Minister of Industry and Commerce. Attorney-General. Minister of Mines and Natural Resources Minister of Welfare. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Labour. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Public Utilities and Provincial Secretary.	Hon. STEWART E. MCLEAN Hon. STERLING R. LYON Hon. GEORGE JOHNSON Hon. J. B. CARBOL Hon. C. H. WITNEY	June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 Aug. 7, 1959 Aug. 7, 1959 Aug. 7, 1969 Feb. 27, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963	June 30, 1958 Aug. 7, 1959 Dec. 9, 1963 Dec. 9, 1963 Dec. 9, 1963 Dec. 9, 1963 Dec. 9, 1963 Dec. 9, 1963 Aug. 7, 1959 Nov. 5, 1962 Feb. 27, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963 June 12, 1963

Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1905) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115; since that date the office has been held by the Hon. F. L. Bastedo, commissioned to office Jan. 27, 1958, followed by the Hon. Robert L. Hanbidge, commissioned to office Mar. 1, 1963.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 59, elected for a maximum term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115.

The Premier receives \$13,000 and each Cabinet Minister \$10,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$10,000 plus an office allowance of \$12,000 per annum, the Speaker \$3,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$2,000. The sessional indemnity of a member of the Legislature is \$4,000 together with an expense